Consumer Rights

Right to Safety
Means right to be protected against the marketing of goods and services, which are hazardous to...


Consumer Fora


Locate your Consumer Forum

Directors (Nodal Officers) of Public Grievances in GoI

Standards FAQs

A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose.


Bureau establishes Indian Standards in relation to any article or process and amends, revises or cancels the standards so established as may be necessary, by a process of consultation involving consumers, manufacturers, Government and regulatory bodies, technologists, scientists and testing laboratories through duly constituted committees.

Standardization can help to maximize compatibility, interoperability, safety, repeatability, or quality. It can also facilitate commoditization of formerly custom processes.he user can enter the first three letters of the station name and click search to get the list of matching stations and the station codes.

Presence of ISI certification mark known as Standard Mark on a product is an assurance of conformity to the specifications. The conformity is ensured by regular surveillance of the licensee's performance by surprise inspections and testing of samples, drawn both from the market and factory.

There are 16 broad categories, including textiles, packaged water, food, automobile components, plastic products and electronics, for which BIS has laid down standards.

It is a mandatory mark for all processed fruit products in India. Certifies that the product was manufactured in a hygienic 'food-safe' environment.

AGMARK is a certification mark employed on agricultural products in India, assuring that they conform to a set of standards approved by the Directorate of Marketing and Inspection, an agency of the Government of India.

It certifies the purity of gold.

Hallmarking is done from the centers authorized by the government.

There are 5 things to be seen on the jewelry: first is the BIS logo, second is the 3 digit number code defining the purity(carat) of gold, third is the mark of the assaying & hallmarking centre, fourth is the a alphabetic code that describes the year of manufacturing & last is the jewelers mark.

These are usually the carats in which gold is found:
958,Corresponding to 23 Carat
916,Corresponding to 22 Carat
875,Corresponding to 21 Carat
750,Corresponding to 18 Carat
708,Corresponding to 17 Carat
585,Corresponding to 14 Carat
375,Corresponding to 9 Carat

For the year A means the manufacturing year is 2000, B is for 2001, C is for 2002 & so on.

In eatables green mark stands for vegetarian products & brown for non vegetarian.

Silk Mark certifies that a piece of textile is pure silk. Managed by the 'Silk Mark Organisation of India'.

Every package containg soap, shampoos, tooth pastes & other cosmetics & toiletries brown mark will be for non vegetarian origin & green for vegetarian origin.

BEE stands for Bureau of Energy Efficiency, to assist in developing policies and strategies with a thrust on self-regulation and market principles, within the overall framework of the Energy Conservation Act, 2001

The primary objective of BEE is reducing energy intensity of the Indian economy

Eco mark is a certification mark issued by the Bureau of Indian Standards to products conforming to a set of standards aimed at the least impact on the ecosystem.

Purposes of the mark are increasing awareness among the consumers towards reducing environment impact. The mark is issued to various product categories and the development of standards for more products is in progress.

Goods and Services Tax(GST) Related Information



The Consumer Protection Act

An Act to provide for better protection of the interests of consumers and for that purpose to make provision...


Total Visits :  7193971

Copyright © Department Of Consumer Affairs.